I Nailed It – Zipper on a Purse

After trying, and failing, so incredibly hard at a zipper on a skirt, I turned my sights to a zipper on a purse. With the help of my cat, Lucy, and a handbag pattern, I made it happen! I adjusted the pattern a little bit here and there to make it more my style, and have been using this bag for a month now! It’s still holding strong and zips like a dream.

Lucy
Step One: Let your cat help you cut the pattern and fabric.
Cut two sets of fabric. At this stage, I sewed a few seams around to make smaller pockets on the outside panel, rather than large side pockets.
Cut two sets of fabric. At this stage, I sewed a few seams along the pockets to make smaller pockets on the outside panel, rather than such large side pockets.
Pin the sides facing together and sew along the sides and bottom. Do not sew the corners yet.
Pin the pieces facing right side together and sew along the sides and bottom. Do not sew the corners yet.
Lay the corners flat so that the bottom pairs evenly with the side. Basically, the bottom seam should be evenly pinned to the side seam, and then a box corner made.
Make a box corner. This was actually super easy.
I made a second bag for lining. I didn't want ugly seams showing, so I inserted this second bag into the first bag.
I made a second bag for lining. I didn’t want ugly seams showing, so I inserted this second bag into the first bag. This hides all the messy seams between the layers.
I inserted the inner bag to the outer bag and pinned everything down - almost ready to sew.
I inserted the inner bag to the outer bag, folded the edges into the bag, and pinned everything down – almost ready to sew.
IMG_7037[1]
Before sewing the top seams, I pinned in my straps. I wanted nicer handles, so I bought these. I sewed over the handles three times to make them really sturdy.
The hard part!! My zipper! I sewed the zipper into the fabric that would become the top of the purse BEFORE actually sewing it to the purse.
The hard part!! My zipper! I sewed the zipper into the fabric that would become the top of the purse BEFORE actually sewing it to the purse.
At that point, I carefully pinned and sewed the fabric into the purse, which made it easier to keep the zipper even.
At that point, I carefully pinned and sewed the fabric into the purse, which made it easier to keep the zipper even.
My inserted zipper!
My inserted zipper!
This is how the lining looks.
This is how the lining looks.
I love this bag. It's perfect for work.
I love this bag. It’s perfect for work.
One thought on “I Nailed It – Zipper on a Purse

Leave a Reply

